After two failed attempts at electing a new presiding member, the Assembly Members of Tema Metropolitan Assembly converged again on Tuesday, ‎June ‎19, ‎2018 for another election that finally produced a successful result.

Hon. Joseph Korto, the Assembly Member for Low cost electoral area in community 9 secured 23 out of 32 votes representing 72% to beat Madam Doreeen Ayensu a Government Appointee who polled 9 votes representing 28%.

Hon. Korto was declared the new Presiding Member of the Assembly by the Tema Metropolitan Director of the Electoral Commission, Nana Oduro Nimapau who supervised the election process.

He was then sworn in by a Tema District Magistrate, Mr Joseph McAli Junior.

Three candidates were initially vying for the position but one, Hon. Eric Kojo Twumasi, Assembly Member for Harbour Electoral Area had to step aside for having the least votes in the previous round, leaving Hon. Korto and Madam Ayensu to go head to head.

site siminsagh

In an acceptance speech, the PM-Elect and the longest serving Assembly Member in Greater Accra Region with 16 years of experience, Hon. Korto, thanked the house for the honour. He guaranteed his allegiance, saying he will work in accordance with the Assembly’s set rules and regulations and in collaboration with the MCE and his colleagues to achieve uplifting results.

He said, “together, we will all work for the agenda of the Mayor which is the restoration agenda to see a day of light in the Tema Metropolitan assembly”.

The MCE of Tema, Hon. Felix Mensah Nii Anang-La praised the Assembly Members for finally electing a PM. He indicated that the achievement would enhance the ability to undertake assigned agendas for the metropolis’ development. According to him, the lack of a Presiding Member had delayed many developmental projects. Formation of the Authority Committee and other sub-committees, he added were also hindered by the absence of a PM at the Assembly.

He however assured that the Assembly will double up to make up for the time lost.

By Bryan Effah Bedu & Frankquophy A. Hanyabui

Tma Media