Members of the Tema Metropolitan Assembly (T.M.A) on Wednesday 23rd May, 2018 met to elect a new Presiding Member.

The position became vacant following the creation of a new District Assembly which took away the then presiding member, Hon. Patrick Atitiati Laweh whose jurisdiction now falls under Tema West Municipal Assembly.

The members however failed to elect a Presiding Member, as none of the contestants was able to get two-thirds of the total votes required by law to secure the position.

Out of the 32 votes cast, Hon. Eric Kojo Twumasi had eleven (11) votes, whilst Hon. Joseph Korto and Hon. Doreen Ayensu tied with ten (10) votes each. One ballot was rejected.

The meeting was therefore adjourned to be reconvened at a later date.

The Presiding Member’s duty is to preside over the Assembly’s meetings and perform other functions as prescribed by law.